Review: Hourglass

Hourglass by Myra McEntire

One hour to rewrite the past . . .

For seventeen-year-old Emerson Cole, life is about seeing what isn’t there: swooning Southern Belles; soldiers long forgotten; a haunting jazz trio that vanishes in an instant. Plagued by phantoms since her parents’ death, she just wants the apparitions to stop so she can be normal. She’s tried everything, but the visions keep coming back. So when her well-meaning brother brings in a consultant from a secretive organization called the Hourglass, Emerson’s willing to try one last cure. But meeting Michael Weaver may not only change her future, it may change her past.

Who is this dark, mysterious, sympathetic guy, barely older than Emerson herself, who seems to believe every crazy word she says? Why does an electric charge seem to run through the room whenever he’s around? And why is he so insistent that he needs her help to prevent a death that never should have happened?

(Description from Goodreads)

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I had been contemplating reading this book for quite a while; I hate to admit this, but I really am drawn to artistic and aesthetically pleasing book covers. So when I received a 15% off coupon for all online purchases from Barnes & Noble, I decided then would be the time to get around to this book.

I haven’t read a true YA novel in quite some time, so bear with me here. The book seemed like a bit of a train going uphill and downhill to me. At first, the book started off at a steady pace, then it really sped up, then it slowed down, then it sped up again, and then right at the end it started to slow down before it came to a halt. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind it when books prolong the important parts and speed up the “fluff” parts, but this book seemed to do a mixture of speeding up important and “fluff” parts, as well as slowing down important and “fluff” parts.

Anyway, as for the plot. I really LOVED the concept of time travel, even though it was far different than what I was expecting (which is a good thing!) Sadly, it seemed like Michael (the main male in the book) constantly put off telling Emerson (the main protagonist) how time travel worked and all that jazz. I understand where he was coming from, but seriously…how many times do you need to tell someone that some concept is “complicated” to grasp? I’m surprised Emerson didn’t punch the guy more often than she already did; I know I would have! Despite the fact that the whole idea behind time travel took forever to get to, it really was awesome to finally find out the truth about it.

Now, as any girl wants in a book, there is definitely romance. There’s actually a love triangle! Or perhaps, a love square? Hmm…food for thought. Either way, what’s a good YA novel (that appears to be geared towards a female audience) without a little romance to spice things up? There was one thing though that kept coming up that irked me a bit: Emerson was CONSTANTLY remarking about Michael’s lips. Maybe it’s just me, but I do not put that much thought into the lips on a guy (as long as they aren’t chapped, we’re good to go in my opinion.) Perhaps that is the physical feature teenage girls look at these days? For me, it was always about the eyes. But, I digress.

I feel like I had a love/hate relationship with Emerson, mostly in the beginning of the book; as the book progressed, I found that I loved her, as she managed to break away from a terrible past in order to make for a better future. Like any girl, she had her weak moments where a good cry was definitely in order. However, she managed to compose herself back into the sarcastic, witty heroine she became throughout the book.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The concept of time travel was the key aspect in what made this book great for me. There were many other qualities about the book that I enjoyed, but figured it would be better to refrain from talking about those so as to not give anything too important away. I’m definitely looking forward to reading the sequel, Timepiece.

Leave a Reply

