Review: Whispers In Autumn

Whispers In Autumn by Trisha Leigh

In 2015, a race of alien Others conquered Earth. They enslaved humanity not by force, but through an aggressive mind control that turned people into contented, unquestioning robots.

Except sixteen-year-old Althea isn’t content at all, and she doesn’t need the mysterious note inside her locket to tell her she’s Something Else. It also warns her to trust no one, so she hides the pieces that make her different, even though it means being alone.

The autumn she meets Lucas, everything changes.

Althea and Lucas are immune to the alien mind control, and together they search for the reason why. What they uncover is a stunning truth the Others never anticipated, one with the potential to free the brainwashed human race.

It’s not who they are that makes them special, but what.

And what they are is a threat. One the Others are determined to eliminate for good.

(Description from Goodreads)

My Rating: 6 out of 5 stars

Am I allowed to give that kind of a rating? Who cares, I’m doing it anyway because this book was amazing! Stunning. Stupendous. Spectacular. I honestly cannot get over this book. Another great YA dystopian series has made a debut!

Okay, at first, I’ll admit I was a little leery of the whole alien concept. I know I shouldn’t think this way, but honestly every time I hear about aliens I can’t help but immediately picture those ugly, green beings that go along with the concept. Of course I know better than for that to actually be the way they are portrayed, especially in books. Once I made myself understand that fully, I was able to process the concept better.

Where to even begin on reviewing this book, considering how absolutely awesome it was. Okay, first of all, the cover is what captured me in the first place. How gorgeous is that cover? I’m seriously a sucker for a stunning cover. This cover is one of the most beautiful covers I’ve ever seen; the second book, Winter Omens, has an equally stunning cover as well.

Next up would be the genre and the idea of the story. Ever since I first read The Hunger Games way back in 2010 (or perhaps 2009…I lose track) I have been obsessed with the genre of dystopian. Because of this, I have been introduced to many wonderful YA books surrounding that genre. When I read the description for this book, I just had to read it (aside from the whole alien thing at first.) I’ve been looking for a good dystopian since Insurgent came out; THIS was the perfect fix for that.

The writing of this book is wonderful. It was full of imagery and description and it all just flowed so well together. I could easily picture every little detail, thanks to the author’s wonderful way with words. I had a very difficult time putting this book down when I absolutely had to do something else other than read it. If I could have done nothing but read this book and forget all about sleep and work, I definitely would have.

Now, the characters are always hard (at least for me) to like at first. However, I was immediately attached to Althea (and later Lucas.) Althea has become so used to being alone and different her entire life, that when people look at her, she knows that they are truly looking through her. Despite this, she remains strong and not willing to compromise her well-being for anything (until Lucas that is, and even then she took on the challenge of looking out for both of them.) Even though she was used to being alone and different from everyone else, that doesn’t mean she didn’t have true female teenager like qualities…like how she thought of and felt about Lucas (after some time, that is.) Plus, she’s a redhead – you don’t see many characters with that hair color these days! Although they were under the alien’s mind control, I felt so bad for Althea’s “parents” considering they had no idea what was going on (until it was too late.) All of the characters were well created, even the antagonists; they even managed to make me scared on certain occasions.

This book definitely left with cliffhangers that had me staring wide-eyed at the pages long enough to have my eyes water. So many happenings occurred that made me go either “Nooooo!!” or “Whaaaaat??” but in a good way!

I couldn’t get enough of this book. It was just the book I was looking to read; I’m excited that the second one (Winter Omens) comes out in September of this year (at least, that’s what I’ve seen on two different websites now) even though this one just came out at the end of July. I honestly cannot think of anything bad to say about this book. Maybe the concept of the whole aliens took over humans thing took a while to grasp, but that didn’t make the book difficult to understand or get into, so I don’t really consider that a negative. This book was truly a pleasure to read.

One thought on “Review: Whispers In Autumn

  1. Pingback: Review: Summer Ruins | The Printed YA Word

Leave a Reply

