Review: Allegiant (Divergent #3)

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

One choice will define you.

What if your whole world was a lie?
What if a single revelation—like a single choice—changed everything?
What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

The explosive conclusion to Veronica Roth’s #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy reveals the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.

(Description from Goodreads)

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I’ve been debating whether or not I would post a review for this book or if I would just read it and move on. I hadn’t started my blog by the time I read both Divergent and Insurgent, so I never reviewed either of them. However, this book has left such a large hole in my heart, that I feel compelled to review it, even though it will stand alone in my list of reviews, away from the rest of the trilogy. Hopefully my reasoning makes sense.

I actually put off reading this book for quite a few days (weeks, actually), because I wasn’t emotionally ready for this trilogy to be over. Someone asked me if I liked this trilogy just as much as I do The Hunger Games trilogy, and my answer was yes, I do. I owe a lot to The Hunger Games and Divergent. Both trilogies truly pulled me into the world of YA, which prompted me to creating this blog to share my love for the genre. But yes, I put off reading Allegiant for quite some time, as I did not want the trilogy to be over for me.

Quite honestly, I’m really surprised there has been so much negative feedback about this final book. Yes, I understand where readers are coming from, but to say this book completely ruined the trilogy? No, that’s not fair. I think the ending was beautiful and truly encompassed the meaning and themes of the trilogy. It’s hard to write a review for this book without giving away anything, but I’ll try my best.

I will admit, it took me several pages/chapters to actually get into Allegiant, probably because when I started reading it I wasn’t in the right mindset; I was too busy telling myself, “Oh my gosh, I can’t believe it’s going to be over after this.” The constant discussions about the factions, the factionless, the fringe, and the experiments actually became so mind boggling, that I lost track of what was going on on several occasions. There were several times when everything was so detailed and explained, that it almost took away from what was going on. Because of this, some situations were predictable, but with a twist.

The only other part I had a problem with was the alternating viewpoints of Tris and Four. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE that the readers had the chance to hear from both characters, but there were moments when they sounded the same and I forgot whose chapter I was on.

Despite those few issues I had, this book still deserves 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion. Why? Because it was amazing, duh. No, but seriously, it was. Tris has grown so much as a character, becoming completely selfless in the end. Through each of the books, the reader gets a glimpse at the development of Tris and her character. She changed from a selfish character to a selfless character, finally grasping many concepts and ideas that had been baffling her since the beginning. Yes, she was a different character in this book, as were the other characters (especially Four), but she was still Tris. While there was a lot less action in Allegiant than in the first two, the actions of the characters still made for a suspenseful read, making up for the lack of action. Four was no longer the same as he was in Divergent, but that’s because over time characters change, grow, and develop. They can’t stay the same forever, especially with a change in time. I think Ms. Roth did a remarkable job with them.

I’ll be honest, Allegiant didn’t have the ending I was hoping for or wanted. HOWEVER, it was an ending I didn’t even consider. Very rarely do YA books end the way this one did, to which I give Ms. Roth a thumbs-up for even attempting it. It was heartbreaking, it was painful, it was tear-worthy, but it was fantastic. It was how the trilogy should end; readers may not agree with it, but it’s how the author envisioned it, so as readers, we need to accept it.

I hate saying good-bye to this trilogy. I’m glad they are being turned into movies, much like The Hunger Games trilogy, but there’s still nothing quite like reading the book. I’m sure I will read through this trilogy several more times, especially with the movie for Divergent coming out in March 2014. But for now, I will push it aside, pick up another book, and start with something new.

…..and perhaps continue to cry in a curled up ball, much like I did after finishing it.

Leave a Reply

