Review: Fates

Fates by Lanie Bross

Fates by Lanie Bross

What if your destiny was to kill the one you love?

One moment. One foolish desire. One mistake. And Corinthe lost everything.

She fell from her tranquil life in Pyralis Terra and found herself exiled to the human world. Her punishment? To make sure people’s fates unfold according to plan. Now, years later, Corinthe has one last assignment: kill Lucas Kaller. His death will be her ticket home.

But for the first time, Corinthe feels a tingle of doubt. It begins as a lump in her throat, then grows toward her heart, and suddenly she feels like she’s falling all over again—this time for a boy she knows she can never have. Because it is written: one of them must live, and one of them must die.

In a universe where every moment, every second, every fate has already been decided, where does love fit in?

(Description from Goodreads)

My Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

First off, I received this ARC from NetGalley.

This book had so much potential, but it fell completely flat for me. Everything about this story was way too fast and there was no growth from the characters at all. Many things could have easily been fixed to make this book as awesome as I thought it was going to be, but sadly, it just didn’t cut it for me.

First of all, it should NOT take me a MONTH to read a book. Yes, it was that rough. I started it immediately after reading Allegiant (and if you take a look, I made my review post on that exactly a month ago) but just could not get into it, despite the fact that it was only 206 pages (according to my NOOK color). I didn’t want to be one of those people who just didn’t finish reading it though, so I forced myself to continue. I am glad I finished it, but I was disappointed in it.

Where to begin? The characters, of course. The main characters we have are Corinthe and Lucas. The book alternates between their points of view each chapter; it’s easy to tell who is designated for what chapter, but at the same time their voices sounded too much alike. I liked the idea of getting the thoughts from either party, but it needed assistance greatly. The only character I truly enjoyed was Rhys and I’m not exactly sure why; perhaps because he actually had some personality to him.

Throughout the entire story, Corinthe is trying to kill Lucas, but can’t stop thinking about how she wants to express emotions toward him (apparently as a Fate, you don’t have emotions). Same goes for Lucas…this girl is trying to murder him, and all he can talk about is how he wants to kiss her and hug her and yadda yadda. Seriously? If someone was trying his or her hardest to kill me, I don’t care how cute they are, I am NOT going to continue to swoon after them. I know they are teenagers (well, Lucas for sure is, but I suppose we aren’t entirely sure about Corinthe), but hormones or not, these two need some true guidance.

Now I will say I did enjoy the whole protective brother idea that Lucas was for his little sister. You don’t often see YA books touch on the subject of family, especially siblings, so this was a welcomed change. However, a good portion of the story is Lucas trying to help his sister, but it is so quickly wrapped up in the end that it left me wondering if the girl was truly in any danger. But again, at least that aspect was good.

I wanted way more back story on Corinthe and Lucas. Yes, there is back story there, but not nearly as much as I would have liked and definitely not enough to help me truly understand and care for either character. Perhaps if there had actually been some character growth, I may have cared for them; Corinthe had some character growth, as she went from being totally self-absorbed to somewhat caring, but eh…not as much as was needed.

There was a lot that could have been different in this book, such as further explanation of the Executors, the Guardians, the Free Radicals, the Fates, and the many worlds that there were. Often I found myself confused because the change in the storyline happened so fast, I was never really sure where they were at any given time until they mentioned it.

It’s sad to say, but this book felt like the author was just writing along, would come to a situation and completely make something up so that it was easy to remedy (for the most part). While I must say it is admirable to be that creative, some things just didn’t work well together or perhaps they just didn’t read well together. I had a difficult time connecting with the characters and with the story in general. When I first heard the synopsis, I thought this was an awesome, original story that I just had to read. I will say though that the synopsis doesn’t even begin to cover all of the happenings of the book; in fact, it only touches on one. There’s no explanation of a difference between titles that characters may have, such as Fates and Executors…they all blurred together for me.

I hate that I disliked this book. It wasn’t horrible, but it wasn’t something I would recommend. It did end with a cliffhanger, but I honestly don’t think I will be picking up the next book to find out what happens.

Leave a Reply

