Top Ten Tuesday – Books That Will Make You Cry

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they will post a new Top Ten list that one of their bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish will answer. Anyone can join!

This week’s top ten list features books that make us cry. For some reason, this was another really difficult topic for me; I’m the type of person who cries easily, but I actually haven’t come across many books that have made me cry. But I still came up with 10, though some don’t fall under YA. 

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Hate List by Jennifer Brown

Hate List by Jennifer Brown

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares

Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls

Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult

Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult

A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks

A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books That Will Make You Cry

  1. For me, books probably make me cry more than anything. I don’t get overly emotional in real life. I’m more of a shizz-happens-move-on kind of gal, but with books (and movies and TV shows) it’s different. On your list, I’ve only read TFiOS and Mockingjay (both of which are very emotional). I’ve never heard of Hate List before, so I’m going to have to check that out.

    Wonderful list!
    My list!

    • Haha, I’m the exact opposite. I’m super emotional in real life, but books rarely make me cry, even if they are super sad; perhaps it just depends on the content. Definitely look into reading Hate List – it’s really good!

  2. I’ve seen Hate List on a couple of Top Ten lists today–it’s been on my TBR list for awhile, but now that I know I might cry, I don’t really want to read it! I hate crying books! Of Mice and Men is a great choice. I still remember the first time I read that book–going back and rereading the last pages over and over again because I thought I was misunderstanding what happened. Because it really could not end that way, could it?

    • Don’t let the fact that you might cry while reading the book keep you from doing so! I didn’t cry buckets of tears, but some tears were shed, haha. I recommend reading it though!

  3. The only one I’ve read on the list was the Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants. Yeah, that book was sad. Two more that would be on my list though- “The Last Battle”- Chronicles of Narnia, last book. And a book that is definitely not a happy cry type book- “Flowers in the Attic” by V.C Andrews. That book terrified me.

    • I’ve actually never read any of the of the Narnia books (I feel horrible that I haven’t), but once I’m done with graduate school in May, those are the first books I plan to read!
      And I haven’t read Flowers in the Attic, but I saw that new movie of it a few weeks ago – it was frightening!

  4. Of Mice and Men made me sob ugly tears. That book had me crying for hours after, I felt like someone close to me had died.

    My students are reading The Book Thief, I hope some of them cry, but that’s a lot to ask.

Leave a Reply

